The village of Braceville was plotted by Nathan Cotton in 1861 and was populated mostly by men directly interested in mining coal; especially after 1870 when several mines were opened and the town became the center of the mining area. After a disastrous fire destroyed most of the business section of the town, on
At this time there were six churches: Methodist, Episcopal, Primitive Methodist, English Baptist, Welsh Baptist, Welsh Congregational and Spiritual. The residents were mostly Welsh and English but later many nationalities were represented.
George Augustine was the first postmaster and built the first post office and the first house in the
At one time Braceville’s soccer and football teams as well as baseball team, were the best in the State.